Our Advisory Board

The DISCnet Advisory Board is comprised of representatives of some of the venture’s external partners and stakeholders. The Advisory Board  offer strategic advice and guidance to the DISCnet Management Team on the training programme, and on the many beneficial interactions that may be possible across the whole community.


The DISCnet Advisory Board comprises

  • Brian Luff (Chair): Chairman, Critical Software

  • Simon Agass: Head of Geospatial Solutions, Satellite Applications Catapult

  • Demelza Farrer:  University Programs Manager, IBM UK

  • Russell Johnston: Head of Data Science, Rank Group

  • Andy Lawrence:  Director, ScotDIST, Royal Observatory Edinburgh

  • Jeremy Morley: Chief Geospatial Scientist, Ordnancy Survey

  • Kim Nilsson:  CEO, Pivigo

  • Sean Ryan: SEPnet Director, SEPnet

  • Stephen Smith:  Head of Business Intelligence, AGEAS

  • Andy Vickers: Director, Tessella (Altran Group)

© 2020, DISCnet            DISCnet is the Data Intensive Science Centre in SEPnet, and an STFC Centre for Doctoral Training;  a collaboration between

the Universities of Southampton, Sussex, Portsmouth, Queen Mary University of London, and Open University